FTC Required Disclosure

The FTC now requires bloggers to disclose what they’ve received for free.

I was about to say nothing when I remembered that I received a copy of H. Ward Classen’s A Practical Guide to Software Licensing for Licensees and Licensors.  It took me so long to read and review that Ward probably regretted even having a copy sent to me.  But I got it for free nonetheless.  Oh, and if you want to send me something for free… I love freebies.  Just remember that I’ll now disclose that I got it for free.

But I think the FTC’s missing a real opportunity for regulation.  I think people who send out free things should disclose from whom they’re attempting an endorsement or comment.  I’ll even go first because, frankly, I only send things to people I know and respect and who would actually have a use for what I’m sending.  This, by the way, is also a great list of folks that you should be following/reading (in alpha order):

Leave a Reply

