Speaking of Firesales…

As you can see from the multiple prior articles, we just held our first free conference call regarding firesales. Stephen Guth was gracious enough to host and we had several great suggestions on how to deal with the inevitable steals and deals that seem to pop out of nowhere this time of year.  Thank you to all who participated!  We’ll look forward to seeing you again in January or early February with another call.

And, as expected (but kinda’ eerily coincidental nonetheless), Amazon is currently selling my Software Licensing Handbook for 23% off (regularly $114.95, now $88.82). Geez. What a deal!

I don’t know that I’ve ever explained to you how the publishing process works, but suffice it to say, I do not get the same royalty from a book sold via Amazon (or other resellers) as I do from Lulu. In fact, I have to give the resellers a WIDE margin in which they are allowed to play. This margin includes their profit, so they can discount the book any way they desire, as it only affect their per-book profit. But regardless of the discount they offer to you, the total value of the margin comes out of my royalty.

I, however, can’t discount my own book because the price I offer to you via Lulu has to be the retail price presented to the resellers. Amazon and others can offer you great deals and I can’t match it even if I wanted to. So, dear reader, if you wanted to save money on the Software Licensing Handbook, now is the time to do it, as the Amazon holiday firesale is in full swing!


Leave a Reply

